Links

Destinations
Clubs and Organizations: National and Great Lakes

Sea Kayaking Symposia
Outfitting, Instruction and Guiding
Weather
Winter Weather
Lake Superior Webcams
Odds and Ends


DESTINATIONS


Apostle Islands National Lakeshore (WI) 
http://www.nps.gov/apis/

Isle Royale National Park (MI) http://www.nps.gov/isro/index.htm

Paddling Ontario (Canada) http://www.paddlingontario.com

Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore (MI) http://www.nps.gov/piro/index.htm

Lake Superior Water Trail Association (MN shore water trail maps) http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/kayaking/lswt/index.html

Minnesota Parks (MNDNR) http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/state_parks/index.html.

Neys Provincial Park (Ontario) http://www.ontarioparks.com/english/neys.html

Pukaskwa National Park (Ontario) http://www.pc.gc.ca/pn-np/on/pukaskwa/index_e.asp

Lake Superior Provincial Park (Ontario) http://www.ontarioparks.com/english/lakes.html

top


Clubs and Organizations (National)

American Canoe Association (ACA)

http://www.americancanoe.org/

British Canoe Union (BCU) http://www.bcu.org.uk

Florida Sea Kayakers Association http://www.clubkayak.com/fska/

Paddlewise http://www.paddlewise.net/

top


Clubs and Organizations (Great Lakes Region)

Minnesota Canoe Association http://www.canoe-kayak.org/

Inland Sea Kayakers http://www.isk.canoe-kayak.org/

Paddle Pushers, Brainerd, MN area club http://www.paddlepushers.com/

Western Michigan Coastal Kayaker’s Association http://www.wmcka.org/

Mad City Paddlers (Madison, WI) http://www.geocities.com/madcitypaddler/index.html

top


Sea Kayaking Symposia

Two Harbors Kayak Festival, August,  Two Harbors, MN  http://www.kayakfestival.org/

Inland Sea Symposium, sort of cancelled: Bayfield, WI  http://www.inlandsea.org/

top


Outfitting, Instruction, and Guiding

Caribou Expeditions, Goulais River, Ontario, Canada Caribou Expeditions

Living Adventure Inc. Bayfield, WI  http://www.livingadventure.com

Naturally Superior Adventures  Wawa, Ontario  http://www.naturallysuperior.com

Nordic Sports  East Tawas, MI  http://www.n-sport.com/

Superior Coastal Sports (formerly Cascade Kayaks) Grand Marais, MN  http://www.superiorcoastal.com/

University of Sea Kayaking  http://www.useakayak.org

White Squall  Parry Sound, Ontario (Georgian Bay)  http://www.whitesquall.com/

top


 

Weather

Weather Underground – everything wx  http://www.wunderground.com/

National Weather Service Forecasts for MN and WI  (Bayfield Forecast is under Duluth zone)

http://twister.sbs.ohio-state.edu/state/minnesota/minnesota.html

Duluth Office of National Weather Service excellent site with marine forecasts, links to superior buoys and lightstation date, water temps, etc  http://www.crh.noaa.gov/dlh/marine.htm

Minnesota (and Wisconsin) Marine forecasts  http://www.nws.noaa.gov/om/marine/zone/gtlakes/glcstmz.htm

Ontario Marine forecasts  http://weather.gc.ca/marine/region_e.html?mapID=09

Environment Canada weather forecasts  http://weatheroffice.ec.gc.ca/canada_e.html

Jet Stream Position  http://www.weatherimages.org/data/imag192.html

USA combined radar map  www.accuweather.com

top


Lake Superior Webcams

Bayfield, Wi Webcam (View of ferry docks with Basswood Island and Madeline Island in the background)

http://www.kerrart.com/bayfieldwisconsa.html

Duluth Shipping Channel (Lake Superior Marine Museum Association)

http://lsmma.com/webcam.htm

Duluth Webcam

http://www.allete.com/lakecam/

Eagle Harbor, MI

http://www.cableamerica.com/Michigan/Lake.shtml

Copper Harbor, MI

http://www.aviewfromthefield.com/livecam.html

Soo Locks webcams

http://www.soolocks.com/soo-locks-web-cam-12/

Granite Island Lightstation

http://www.graniteisland.com/webcamp.shtml

Lake Superior at Rock Island Lodge Webcam – Wawa, Ontario, CA

(Naturally Superior Adventures)

http://www.wawawebcam.ca/

top


Winter Weather

New Wind Chill Index Formula (2001)

http://www.noaanews.noaa.gov/stories/s720.htm

Looking for open water? These might help…

NOAA Lakes Surface Environmental Analysis (GLSEA)

http://coastwatch.glerl.noaa.gov/glsea/glsea.gif

Great Lakes Coastal Forecasting System, GLCFS – Great Lakes Surface Temps and Ice

http://coastwatch.glerl.noaa.gov/

Minnesota Streamflow Conditions

http://waterdata.usgs.gov/MN/nwis/current/?type=flow

Minnesota Climatology Group

Shows ice out line for inland lakes during spring,

good snow depth map and ski trail conditions in winter

http://climate.umn.edu/

Midwest Snow Depth (Wunderground)

http://www.wunderground.com/US/Region/Midwest/2xSnowDepth.gif

top


Odds and Ends

Canoe &AMP Kayak Magazine

http://www.canoekayak.com

Great Lakes Storm Surges

Lake Superior: November 26-27, 2001

NOAA – Great Lakes Storm Surges Lake Superior: November 26-27, 2001

University of Wisconsin Sea Grant Institute – Coastal Natural Hazards

Great Lakes Shipping

They don’t call this site “boatnerd” for nothing.

http://www.boatnerd.com/

Lighthouses of the Great Lakes

http://lighthouse.boatnerd.com/

Maptech Server

You can print topo maps, nautical and aeronautical charts,

and navigational photos. (FREE!)

http://mapserver.maptech.com/homepage/index.cfm?type=1